468x60 Ads

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Entrepreneur of the Year Award - A Truly Inspiring Moment

Makati Shangri-La Hotel Rizal Ballroom
It was indeed an inspiring moment when the event "Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2011" took  place at the Rizal Ballroom in Makati Shangri-La Hotel on October 12, 2011. As the night was filled with more than 600 guests, 17 finalists have already been selected among hundreds of nominees prior to the awards night. This award is held annually which encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential, recognizes the contribution of the people who share and inspire others with their vision, achievement and leadership. It is the world's most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. To name a few of the past winners include Tony Tan-Caktiong, President & CEO of Jollibee Corporation; and Socorro Cancio-Ramos, Founder, National Bookstore.

It was an honor to have been invited by Gae Arboleda-Young who owned Cordillera Coffee as she requested me to cover the event by taking some photos. She was a finalist in the 2009 Entrepreneur of the Year. The event was hosted by Paolo Abrera and Ria Rillo, with The Company as guest performer who graced the 
occasion with medley of their hit songs.
The Company as guest performer

Ria Rillo and Paolo Abrera as hosts

L-R: Socorro Ramos, founder-National Bookstore; Erramon Aboitiz, winner of EOY 2011; Jesus Tambunting, Chairman and President-Planters Development Bank
Erramon I Aboitiz, president and chief executive officer of AboitizPower Corp. was named as Entrepreneur of the the Year and he will represent the country in the World Entrepreneur of the Year Awards in Monte Carlo, Monaco in June 2012. He was also named as Master Entrepreneur in the category awards.

Here are the other category awards presented to the following finalists:

Emerging Entrepreneur – Ferdinand Maranon, president and CEO of Sagrex Corp.
Innovation Entrepreneur - Bienvenido Tantoco III, president of Superenters, Inc.
Social Entrepreneur – Anna Meloto-Wilk and Camille Meloto, founders of Gandang Kalikasan.

Small Business Entrepreneur – Reynaldo Paulino, managing director of Kraftika Filipina.
Woman Entrepreneur – Maria Fe Agudo, president and CEO of Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc.
Reynaldo Paulino, managing director of Kraftika Filipina receives the award as Small Business Entrepreneur

Maria Fe Agudo-president and CEO of Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc as "Woman Entrepreneur" awardee

The others finalists were Francisco M. Bernardo III (Let’s Go Foundation, Inc.); Raul Anthony D. Concepcion, (Concepcion Durables, Inc.); Bernard Faustino M. Dy, (University of Perpetual Help Systems-Isabela); Prudencio S. Garcia, (Mekeni Food Corp.); Jaime Enrique Y. Gonzalez, (IPVG Corp.); Pacita U. Juan (Earth Life Store Supply, Inc.); Ronnel C. Rivera, (Gensan Shipyard & Machine Works, Inc.); Genevieve Ledesma-Tan, (Southville International School and Colleges), Winston P. Uy, (Universal Leaf Philippines, Inc.); and Francis Glenn L. Yu, (SEAOIL Phils., Inc.).

Note: Some infromations were taken from Ernst & Young  Entrepreneur of the Year 2011 program

Sameera Chathuranga

0 Responses So Far: